In most cases start with your state vital statistic office
Post here if you have info on how to get a birth certificate in your state
Alabama - AL makes it very easy. Call the Dept of Vital Records in Montgomery at (334) 206-5418 and ask them to mail you a "homebirth packet". They will sound confused, put you on hold for a minute, and then happily agree and ask for your mailing address. You have one year from the date of your child's birth to submit it without red tape. If you wait past a year they require more proof. You just have to fill out basic info for the packet, and then submit a separate paper with the names, addresses and phone numbers of (1) a doctor who saw you when you were pregnant and (2) a doctor who saw the baby. I used my chiro for both with no problems. There are other options if you didn't see any type of health professional, such as a notarized letter from a clergyman, employer, etc. They require a copy of a bill in your or your husband's name at the address of the birth and a copy of your driver's license. It is $15 for a certified copy of the birth certificate.
As long as the paperwork is returned within one year you can check a box to have your child's ssc number issued. After one year, you must go to the ssc office. It takes about 2 week in my experience to get the birth certificate back.
for anyone having uc in colorado, i live in arapahoe county and was able to get birth certificate information from tri-county health department vital records. they will send you a packet of all the information you need to fill out to obtain birth certificate. there number is 303-220-9200 and address is 6162 s willow dr. suite 100 greenwood villiage, co 80111
District of Columbia
Maryland- You have to call the local health dept. within 72 hours to report the birth. You will need proof of pregnancy from a health care provider: doctor, health dept nurse etc. Need a photo copy of both parent's state ids, proof that you were in the house on the day of birth (ie. utility bill). You can get in contact with the health dept beforehand. If you are UC/Freebirthing you have an easier time than if you were having a midwife. Midwives attending home birth in MD is a felony and they ALWAYS try and get your midwife's name.
Jeanie Wiliams 601-576-7189 (Northern MS)
Ed Berry 601-576-7965 (Southern MS)
these are the two field reps for the vitals statistics office in Jackson that handle this
2 proofs: (1) a signed statement from someone who attended the birth or arrived shortly after, must be notarized or
(2) statement from the Dr or midwife on office letterhead saying yes, you were pregnant and saw the Dr./midwife at least once
(if you never saw the dr./midwife I understand two statements from witnesses will suffice)
Witness statement should read as follows:
I, (name) witnessed the birth of (person's child) at (residence) on (date)
If you want newborn screening tests done (for 50+ genetic diseases) you should call your local health department and set a time to come and get the blood drawn (heelprick) ~ $70.
Contact the local registrar and ask for the birth certificate questionairre(it can be mailed or you can go in for it). The local registrar is usually located in the County Health Department. You will be asked to provide proof of your pregnancy, proof of live birth(immunization record, or newborn checkup record from a doctor) and proof of your residency(a bill mailed to your address). You turn the filled out questionairre, proof of pregnancy, live birth, proof of residency in to the local registrar and they will send in the information for a birth certificate and social security number/card.
Ok for NC you will need to go to your local health departments Office of Vital Statistics and fill out a birth information worksheet. With that you will need: your ID and proof of address. It is also preferred that you have proof of pregnancy as well OR proof of live birth, i didnt have proof of pregnancy but i was nursing baby in my wrap at the time i was filling out paperwork so i dont know if that counted =) It was very easy and only took a few minutes. We got the SSN within a week and can get the copy of the birth certificate whenever (we just did this last month and baby is almost 5mo now) They nchomebirth website i believe says you have to do this within 10 days of the birth by my daughter was 4 months old when we finally got around to doing it and they didnt even hesitate.
Northern Marianas Islands
If your baby was born without a medical professional present, you may call the Vital Records staff at 802-863-7275 or (within Vermont) 800-439-5008. They will assist you in completing your birth certificate.
West Virginia- Contact your local health dept and they will provide you with a home birth kit. They were including the birth certificates in the kit but were changing things around so they stopped including them. I'm sure the nurse at the health dept. can help with it. WV is GREAT about home births.
Birth certificate info from mothering forum: http://www.mothering.com/community/t/770140/getting-the-birth-certificate
(some of the info on the mothering forum is pretty old and may be out-dated but it is a place to start)
Like this post to subscribe to the topic.